Wednesday, April 28, 2004

CSTV: College Sports Television will present a live men's college volleyball championship tripleheader Saturday, May 1


EIVA, MIVA and MPSF Championships To Determine NCAA Final Four Field; Tripleheader Launches CSTV's Championship Mayhem

NEW YORK, April 27, 2004 - CSTV: College Sports Television (, the fastest-growing independent cable network, will present a live men's college volleyball championship tripleheader Saturday, May 1, when the first 24-hour college sports network presents a special edition of CSTV Spikes featuring the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association, Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association and the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation tournament championships. The championships of these three premier men's volleyball conferences will determine the field for the NCAA Men's Volleyball Final Four.

Saturday's live tripleheader will also launch Championship Mayhem, College Sports TV's month-long programming initiative featuring seven NCAA national championships and 21 championships overall during the month of May, the most championships televised on one network in one month.

The CSTV Spikes Live May 1 Championship Tripleheader Lineup:
Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (EIVA), 5 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. PT

Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (MIVA), 7:15 p.m. ET/4: 15 p.m. PT

Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF), 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT

Nine of the top 15 ranked teams in men's volleyball will be competing in the EIVA, MIVA and MPSF tournaments this weekend, including #1 Brigham Young, #2, Long Beach State, #3 UCLA, #4 Pepperdine, #7 Penn State, #9 Ohio State, #11 Ball State, #12 Loyola-Chicago and #13 and defending national champion Lewis. Jason Knapp and Phil Bush will call the action from the EIVA championship on the Penn State campus in State College, Pa. Carter Blackburn and Krista Blunk will be in the booth at the MIVA championship at Ohio State in Columbus, Ohio, and Dave Rottman and Mike Dodd will be the College Sports TV broadcast team at the MPSF championship at Brigham Young in Provo, Utah.

CSTV Primetime, the network's live studio show originating from the CSTV Fieldhouse in New York, will preview the three championships and other key college sports match-ups Saturday at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT. CSTV Scoreboard, the network's companion live studio programming, will air throughout the late afternoon and evening updating viewers with the day's latest college sports news, scores and highlights. A full-length, 30-minute CSTV Scoreboard show will air at 9:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. PT between the MIVA and MPSF championships.

Fans can also log on to the official athletic Web sites of UCLA (, Pepperdine (, Ohio State (, Lewis ( and George Mason ( to follow their teams' progress this weekend.

CSTV Spikes

Saturday's live championship tripleheader is part of CSTV Spikes, the first nationally televised men's college volleyball package. CSTV Spikes' regular season action featured all four 2003 NCAA Final Four participants -- Lewis, Pepperdine, Brigham Young and Penn State, as well as #5 Hawaii, #8 California, Irvine and #15T Stanford. The CSTV Spikes regular season schedule included teams that have won 11 of the past 12 NCAA Championships.

College Sports TV, the first 24-hour college sports network, is available to more than 20 million homes nationally on cable and satellite. The network is available on Time Warner, Adelphia and Insight cable systems, among others, and is also available on DirecTV (channel 610). For information on CSTV availability in particular markets, consumers can log on to or call their cable or satellite operator.

CSTV is comprised of two primary business units: College Sports TV and College Sports TV televises regular season and championship event coverage of 30 men's and women's college sports from every major collegiate athletic conference, in addition to nine NCAA Championships. The network also has a programming and marketing agreement with the U.S. Olympic Committee., the most-trafficked college sports Web site, and its network of 150 official athletic sites for top colleges, universities and athletic associations, are the number one online source for college sports news, information, scores and analysis.

CSTV was co-founded by President/CEO Brian Bedol, Chairman Stephen Greenberg and Executive Vice President Chris Bevilacqua. Bedol and Greenberg co-founded Classic Sports Network, which they later sold to ESPN. The network is now ESPN Classic. Bevilacqua is a former senior executive with Nike Inc., where he headed the company's successful foray into the college market.


Eric Handler
CSTV: College Sports Television


Post a Comment

<< Home