Thursday, September 14, 2006

This Week in College Football History: Sept. 18 – Sept. 24


The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame

MORRISTOWN, N.J., Sept. 12, 2006 – As part of an on-going series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame circulates in advance This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football’s landmark moments over the last 138 years. During the season, many of these events are featured in a changing exhibit at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.

*If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

Featured Moment:

September 18, 1954: Running back Art Luppino set one of the current oldest school records in Arizona history by scoring five touchdowns and a two PAT kick conversions for 32 markers in a 58-0 victory over New Mexico State at Tucson.

Hall of Fame head coach Warren Woodson’s third UA team, paced by Luppino’s still-standing season high of 166 points (24 TDs, 22 PATs), opened his most successful of four seasons with the big win en route to a 7-3 final record.
Luppino was instrumental in the Wildcats breaking the 40-point barrier a UA-most six times that year, and he led the nation in scoring with the 166 tallies. Next on the NCAA list was Oklahoma kicker Bobby Leake with 79 points, 87 behind Luppino’s final number.

Other Notable Dates:

September 18, 1982:
In the fourth and final match up of Elway vs. Elway, father Jack got the better of son John as San Jose State upset Stanford, 35-31. Spartans’
quarterback Steve Clarkson threw for 285 yards to pace the San Jose State attack. In four collegiate meetings between the two, each won twice. John later became a 2000 College Football Hall of Fame inductee.

September 18, 1999:
Ron Dayne became the Big Ten's career rushing leader at 5,615 yards, but the No. 9 Badgers fell at Cincinnati, 17-12. Deontey Kenner’s 5-yard run sealed the win for the Bearcats.

September 19, 1964:
Arkansas edges Oklahoma State 14-10 in Little Rock, Ark., to begin its 11-game march to the national championship. Hall of Fame Coach Frank Broyles ’ crew closed 7-0 in the Southwest Conference, allowed one touchdown in its last six games, and downed Nebraska 10-7 on Jan. 1, 1965, in the Cotton Bowl Classic in Dallas.

September 19, 2003:
Nevada defeated San Jose State, 42-30. The game marked the triumphant return of Neil Parry, who earlier had lost his right leg below the knee. Playing with a prosthetic leg following 25 surgical procedures, Parry received a standing ovation when he appeared on the Spartan's punt coverage team.

September 20, 1986:
Miami of Ohio entered the Tiger's Den in Baton Rouge and upset LSU, 21-12.
Quarterback Terry Morris connected with Andy Schillinger on an 82-yard scoring strike in the third quarter, and the Miami defense made it stand up.
With the win, Miami remained undefeated in competition with Southeastern Conference schools. The Redhawks improved to an incredible 8-0-1 record against SEC football teams.

September 20, 2003:
Oklahoma State's Rashaun Woods set an NCAA record with seven touchdown receptions, pacing the Cowboys to a 52-6 victory over SMU in Dallas. Woods's performance was one touchdown shy of the NCAA all-division record of eight TD catches, set by Paul Zaeske of Division II North Park in 1968.

September 21, 1921:
Birth date of College Football Hall of Fame member and Mississippi All-SEC quarterback, the late Charlie Conerly.

September 21, 1963:
Memphis (then Memphis State) and Mississippi tie 0-0 in Memphis for the only “blemish” on the Tigers’ first and to date only unbeaten season in the post-World War II era. The Tigers eventually close 9-0-1 with victories over Mississippi State, Louisville, South Carolina, and Houston, among others.

September 21, 1985:
Picked to finish eighth in the nine-team Southwest Conference, Baylor University achieved one of its greatest upsets on this day. The Bears traveled to Los Angeles and defeated No. 3 USC, 20-13. On the 20th anniversary of this incredible win (9/21/2005), Baylor coach Grant Teaff was named the recipient of the prestigious 2006 Amos Alonzo Stagg Award. Teaff earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame 2001.

September 21, 1991:
QB Dustin DeWitt of Iowa Wesleyan sets an NAIA record with 86 pass attempts
(61 completions) against Harding. He also rushed 13 times for an all-divisions’ record with 99 total offense plays.

September 22, 1990:
Howard Griffin of Illinois sets NCAA Division I-A record for points scored
(48) and rushing touchdowns (eight) as the Fighting Illini down Southern Illinois 56-21 at Champaign, Ill. Griffin scored every point for the Illini with the exception of eight extra-point kicks.

September 22, 2001:
The North Carolina Tar Heels, off to a 0-3 start on the season, pounded No.
6 Florida State in Chapel Hill, 41-9. Backup quarterback Darian Durant threw a pair of touchdown passes for the Tar Heels, who logged one of the biggest wins in school history.

September 23, 1989:
Former University of Colorado quarterback Sal Aunese lost his battle with
cancer at age 21. The previous year he had set a school record by throwing
92 passes without an interception, leading the Buffaloes to an 8-3 record.

September 23, 2000:
Beginning only its second year of football competition in Conference USA, the Blazers of UAB stunned LSU in Baton Rouge, 13-10. It was UAB’s first victory over an SEC team, spoiling homecoming for over 85,000 Tiger fans.
Rhett Gallego broke a 10-10 tie, connecting on a 32-yard field goal as time expired.

September 24, 1946:
1984 College Football Hall of Fame inductee Mean Joe Greene of North Texas is born. The Eagles later became known as the “Mean Green” as an alternate nickname because of Mean Joe’s legacy and the school colors.

September 24, 1983:
Pat Brennan of Franklin intercepts a college record nine passes against Saginaw Valley.

NFF Contacts:

Phil Marwill, director of communications 1-800-486-1865, ext. 118

Bo Carter, correspondent

With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. The NFF presents the MacArthur Trophy, the Draddy Trophy presented by HealthSouth and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., Play It Smart, the NFF Center for Youth Development Through Sport at Springfield College (Mass.), the NFL-NFF Coaching Academy, and scholarships of over $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. Visit


Post a Comment

<< Home