Tuesday, May 18, 2004

CSTV Will Also Air Arizona Basketball CSTV Retrovision Specials


CSTV Will Also Air Arizona Basketball CSTV Retrovision Specials

NEW YORK, May 17, 2004 - CSTV: College Sports Television (www.collegesports.com), the fastest-growing independent cable network, will showcase the "best of the best" of college athletics in the state of Arizona when presents its Arizona Weekend: Regionals and Rivalries Friday-Sunday, May 21-23. The first 24-hour college sports network will feature live Arizona State-Arizona baseball, at least four live NCAA Softball Championship games from the Tucson Regional, and the premiere of the Arizona softball installment of CSTV's Nike Training Camp original series.

CSTV's Arizona Weekend: Regionals and Rivalries Lineup

#19 Arizona State at Arizona Baseball: Friday, May 21, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT - two of the most storied collegiate baseball programs, archrivals Arizona State and Arizona will meet for the 405th time since 1907, with Arizona holding a 220-185 series advantage; Arizona State has produced such stars as Reggie Jackson, Barry Bonds, Oddibe McDowell and Bob Horner and has five NCAA National Championships to its credit; Arizona answers with three national championships and former stars such as J.T. Snow and Kenny Lofton. Mike Crispino calls the action and former University of Washington Pac-10 shortstop and former major leaguer Kevin Stocker provides analysis. KAZ-TV will simulcast the CSTV game live throughout Arizona.

Nike Training Camp: Arizona Softball: Premieres Saturday, May 22, 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT - College Sports TV's Nike Training Camp original series reveals the "secrets of success" of the top college athletic programs, and Arizona's softball program, winner of six national championships under head coach Mike Candrea, certainly fits the bill; Nike Training Camp will feature interviews with Candrea, his assistant coaches and players as they discuss the teamwork, commitment and attitude necessary to build a championship program; Candrea, who is also the head coach of the 2004 U.S. Olympic softball team, has produced 43 first-team All-Americas at Arizona.

NCAA Softball Championship Regional, Tucson: Saturday, May 22, 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT, 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT and 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, and Sunday, May 23, 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT and, if necessary, 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT - CSTV will provide live coverage of the Tucson NCAA Regional, which features Arizona, Oklahoma, Northwestern, South Carolina, Louisiana-Lafayette, UC-Santa Barbara, Temple and Centenary; Dave Pasch provides play-by-play and Ann Schatz adds color commentary as teams vie for a spot in the Women's College World Series.

CSTV Retrovision: CSTV's original series, hosted by actor Billy Baldwin and veteran sportscaster Bonnie Bernstein and showcasing the "best of the best" of classic college sports action, will feature classic Arizona basketball games: 2000 Gonzaga-Arizona, 2002 Texas-Arizona and 1996 Cincinnati-Arizona.

College Sports TV, the first 24-hour college sports network, is available to more than 20 million homes nationally on cable and satellite. The network is available on Time Warner, Adelphia and Insight cable systems, among others, and is also available on DirecTV (channel 610). For information on CSTV availability in particular markets, consumers can log on to www.collegesports.com or call their cable or satellite operator.

CSTV is comprised of two primary business units: College Sports TV and CollegeSports.com. College Sports TV televises regular season and championship event coverage from every major collegiate athletic conference and televises nine NCAA Championships. In addition, the network has a programming and marketing agreement with the U.S. Olympic Committee. CollegeSports.com, the most-trafficked college sports Web site, and its network of 150 official athletic sites for top colleges, universities and athletic associations, is the number one online source for college sports news, information, scores and analysis.

College Sports TV was co-founded by President/CEO Brian Bedol, Chairman Stephen Greenberg and Executive Vice President Chris Bevilacqua. Bedol and Greenberg co-founded Classic Sports Network, which they sold to ESPN. It is now ESPN Classic. Bevilacqua is a former senior executive with Nike Inc., where he headed the company's successful foray into the college market.


Eric Handler
CSTV: College Sports Television


Post a Comment

<< Home