Thursday, November 27, 2003

The Football Gazette's all-America Centers will receive Rimington Awards.

This year for the first time ever, an annual college football award will be presented to players from all four NCAA divisions and the NAIA. Click on this link to view the Rimington Trophy:

The Boomer Esiason Foundation, which established the Dave Rimington Trophy in 2000 to honor the outstanding Division 1-A center, is expanding that award to include the best center on each of the National Weekly Football Gazette's Division 1-AA, II, III and NAIA all-America squad.

Winners of the Division 1-A trophy, who have been Dominic Raiola (Nebraska) in 2000, LeCharles Bentley (Ohio State) in 2001, and Brett Romberg in 2002, are determined by a consensus of All-America teams that are recogniozed by the NCAA and College Football Hall of Fame.

Esiason, a high-octane Maryland quarterback, and Rimington, a nonpareil center for Nebraska, were NFL teammates at Cincinnati in the mid-1980's.

In 1993, Esiason created the New York City based foundation that bears his name to raise funds for the treatment and research of cystic fibrosis, a genetic disease his 13-year-old has had since infancy.