Monday, April 19, 2004

Independence Bowl Foundation Announces 2004 HALL OF HONOR CLASS

Contact: Missy Setters
318.221.0712 or Toll Free 888.414.BOWL
Fax: 318.221-7366
Date: April 16, 2004

Independence Bowl Foundation Announces

Shreveport, La. -- Independence Bowl Foundation officials are pleased to announce the 2004 class of inductees to the Independence Bowl Hall of Honor. They are as follows:

Inductee College Year(s) in Independence Bowl
Coach/AD Jack Doland McNeese State University 1976 (as coach), 1979 and 1980 (as AD)
Reggie Collier Southern Miss 1988
Danny Ford Clemson University 1985

These additions join a long list of outstanding men who have been inducted since the Hall’s inception in 1996. Playing greats like Brett Favre, Chad Hennings, Art Monk, Joe Morris, Bruce Smith, Wesley Walls, and Eddie Kennison, and coaching greats Frank Beamer, Mack Brown, David Cutcliffe and Pat Dye have all participated in the Independence Bowl and are members of its Hall of Honor.

This year’s induction reception is scheduled for Thursday, June 10, 7 p.m., at the Stadium Club in Independence Stadium. Tickets are available for $15.

The annual Hall of Honor Golf Classic will take place Friday, June 11, at Olde Oaks Country Club. The public is invited to participate in the Golf Classic for $125 per player, which includes entry fee, greens fee, cart fee, golf shirt, and lunch buffet, as well as soft drinks and beer on the course.

Tickets for the reception and spots in the Golf Classic are available by calling the Independence Bowl office at 221-0712 or toll free 888-414-BOWL, and through the bowl’s website at Anyone interested in these events can also stop by the bowl office located at 401 Market Street, Suite 120 in the American Tower.

Access all Independence Bowl-related information at