Tuesday, June 14, 2005


For Immediate Release June 14, 2005
Contact: Matt Eviston (336) 278-6711


LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. - The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics announced the 25 winners of the 2004-05 GeneralSports TURF Systems Athletics Director of the Year Award today, honoring Elon University's Dr. Alan White as the NCAA Division I-AA/I-AAA Southeast AD of the Year.

White has led Elon through the evolution from an NAIA institution to NCAA Division II status to its current NCAA Division I affiliation with the Southern Conference. He just completed his 26th year as athletics director and 35th overall at Elon. During his tenure, White led Elon to four national championships and 12 conference Excellence Awards, including eight consecutive, from 1990-97.

Additionally, Elon teams have captured 53 conference titles and produced more than 500 all-conference players. White has served as president of the NAIA Athletics Directors Association and the South Atlantic Conference. He directed a major renovation of the university's primary athletics facility and construction of the track and field facility and a major athletics complex. The latter includes Elon's first on-campus football stadium, which was designated as a 2003 Facility of Merit by Athletic Business.

Well-respected by his peers, White received the 1989 NAIA National Athletics Administrator of the Year Award, was named the NAIA District 26 Athletics Administrator of the Year five times and was inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame in 1993. A former football student-athlete, White earned his bachelor's degree at Wake Forest University, his master's degree from the University of North Carolina and his doctorate from Mississippi State University. After returning to Elon in 1974, White served as an assistant professor and later as chair of the physical education department. He was named the institution's director of athletics in 1979.

There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into six categories - Division I-A; Division I-AA/I-AAA combined; Division II, Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the six categories, along with a cross-divisional International winner for a total of 25 honorees. Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon Thursday at NACDA's 40th Anniversary Convention at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

NACDA Executive Director Mike Cleary says the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to campuses and their surrounding communities.

"Our Honors and Awards Committee recognized a need for an award such as the AD of the Year," said Cleary, who oversaw implementation of the program to allow all NACDA Officers and Honors and Awards Committee members to participate in the awards process, should they be elected. "The program brings to light the exceptional jobs done by athletics directors across the country. These 25 winners exemplify that, providing us with a group of outstanding athletics directors who excel at their jobs."

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Criteria includes service as an AD for a minimum of five years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD's institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current AD. Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA's web site at www.nacda.com.

GENERAL SPORTS TURF SYSTEMS, headquartered in Rochester, Michigan, is the only synthetic turf company headquartered in the Midwest. The company develops, designs, constructs and services synthetic sports fields. Its primary markets are small to mid-size colleges, and high schools where multiple sports are being played on a single surface and, therefore, require enhanced durability. The company markets these products under its GameDay Grass Xpe and Fusion TurfTM brands, using the world's leading materials and components. The company also offers revenue generation services, lease/finance programs and other customer resources designed to make the process simple and smooth for owners.

NACDA, which is now in its 40th year, is the professional and educational association for more than 6,100 college athletics directors, associates, assistants and conference commissioners at more than 1,600 institutions throughout the United States, Mexico and Canada. Through its series of management seminars, clinics and workshops and publication of the bi-monthly magazine Athletics Administration, NACDA offers educational opportunities to its members. More than 2,000 athletics administrators annually attend the NACDA Convention. Additionally, the Association operates the Sports Academy Directors' Cup program, which honors the all-sports champion in each of the NCAA Divisions - I, II, III - and the NAIA, for a total of four trophies.

2004-05 GeneralSports TURF Systems AD of the Year Award Recipients
NCAA Division I-A
Central - Tim Weiser, Kansas State University
Northeast - Jake Crouthamel, Syracuse University
Southeast - Dave Hart, Jr., Florida State University
West - DeLoss Dodds, University of Texas
NCAA Division I-AA/I-AAA
Central - Andrea Myers, Indiana State University
Northeast - Susan Hofacre, Robert Morris University
Southeast - Alan White, Elon University
West - Scott Barnes, Eastern Washington University
NCAA Division II
Central - Loren Ferre, Washburn University
Northeast - Dan Gavitt, Bryant University
Southeast - Michael Covone, Barry University
West - Barbara Schroeder, Regis University
NCAA Division III
Central - Larry Bock, Juniata College
Northeast - Suzanne Coffey, Bates College
Southeast - Kevin McHugh, College of New Jersey
West - Scott Carnahan, Linfield College
Central - Bryan Rizzo, Madonna University
Northeast - Pete Reese, Cedarville University
Southeast - Craig Bogar, University of Mobile
West - Carroll Land, Point Loma Nazarene University
Junior/Community College
Central - Bob Bottger, St. Louis Community College Meramec
Northeast - Dan Minch, Broome Community College
Southeast - Robert Zelinski, Central Florida Community College
West - Scott Geddis, Phoenix College
Luc Gelineau, University of Ottawa