Tuesday, January 10, 2006

NFF Presents Divisional Championship Trophies

Grand Valley State and Mount Union Regain National Titles Appalachian State Claims First Crown While Carroll College Wins 4th Consecutive Trophy

DALLAS – Jan. 9, 2006 – In front of over 1,500 coaches at the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Annual Convention, Steven J. Hatchell, president of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF), today presented the National Championship Trophies to the winning teams from Division I-AA, II, III, and NAIA.

“Each year at this convention, the NFF presents the championship trophies to the coaches who have taken their teams to the pinnacle of success,” said Hatchell. “It is fitting that we present the trophies in front of their peers, the very people who know the commitment, dedication, and effort that goes into winning a national championship.”

NCAA Division I-AA – John F. Kennedy Trophy – Appalachian State (N.C.) – Coach Jerry Moore After 13 playoff appearances during the past 17 years with Jerry Moore as head coach, the Mountaineers (12-3) finally claimed the national championship on Dec. 17. The victory also marked Appalachian State’s first national title ever in any sport. During a hard fought come-from-behind performance, the Mountaineers defeated Northern Iowa, 21-16, after returning a fumble for the go-ahead touchdown in the fourth quarter.

NCAA Division II – Asa S. Bushnell Trophy – Grand Valley State (Mich.) – Coach Chuck Martin Collecting its third national title in four seasons, Grand Valley State (13-0) preserved a dramatic 21-17 victory on Dec. 10 by stopping the Northwest Missouri State on the three-yard line after a last-second 19-yard pass. The current Grand Valley State legacy includes championship victories over North Dakota in 2003 and Valdosta State in 2002. The Lakers lost the 2001 title game to North Dakota.

NCAA Division III - Amos Alonzo Stagg Trophy – Mount Union (Ohio) - Coach Larry Kehres Regaining the national crown for the eighth time in the past 13 seasons, the Mount Union Purple Raiders held back an unbeaten Wisconsin-Whitewater team for the 2005 title on Dec. 17. The 35-28 victory and 14-1 season boosted head coach Larry Kehres’ record to 231-20-3, enhancing his reign with the highest winning percentage (.915) ever for all coaches from all divisions.

NAIA – Dwight D. Eisenhower Trophy – Carroll College (Mont.) – Coach Mike Van Diest Becoming the first NAIA team and only the second team in history to win four consecutive championships, the Carroll Fighting Saints triumphed, 27-10, in a rematch of the 2004 title game with St. Francis. Saints Quarterback Tyler Emmert, the all-time NAIA record holder for total offense (13,681), led the undefeated Saints to victory, connecting on 20 of 36 passes for 278 yards and 3 Touchdowns.

On Jan. 5, the NFF also presented the MacArthur Trophy, the NFF’s Division I-A championship trophy, to head coach Mack Brown and the Texas Longhorn, the winners of this year’s Bowl Championship Series (BCS) title game played at the Rose Bowl. (The National Football Foundation, as an impartial arbiter, tabulates and releases the weekly BCS standings during the college football season.) All the accomplishments of the championship teams will be highlighted during the coming year as part of the National Champions’ Exhibit at the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind.


Phil Marwill, director of communications
1-800-486-1865, ext. 18
Email: pmarwill(at)footballfoundation.com

Matt Sweeney, director of special projects
1-800-486-1865, ext. 16
Email: msweeney(at)footballfoundation.com

With 119 chapters and over 12,000 members nationwide, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in America’s young people. Learn more at www.footballfoundation.org.