Tuesday, July 12, 2005

Jason McCullough of Fort Hays State University selected as 2004-2005 J.W. Campbell Award Recipient / RMAC Sports Information Director of the Year

2004-2005 J.W. Campbell Award Web Site

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLO. --- On Saturday, July 9, 2005, Jason McCullough will be honored as the J.W. Campbell Award recipient, which honors the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (RMAC) Sports Information Director (SID) of the Year. McCullough, a former RMAC student athlete, has spent the past six years in the FHSU Sports Information Department, where he has worked as the head Sports Information Director the past three years. He resides in Hays, Kan. with his wife, the former Karen Kreutzer. McCullough will be honored at the fourth annual RMAC Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet. The other two finalists were Chris Day of Adams State College and Peter Yazvac of the University of Nebraska at Kearney.

J.W. Campbell, who died March 26, 2000 of cancer, was not only a long time SID at Western State College, but he was the assistant to the WSC President, an assistant professor, teaching seven separate disciplines and was the schools information director. He also co-authored two books and wrote numerous articles for magazines and trade publications.

Campbell was a member of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), receiving a lifetime achievement award from the group in 1999. He also served on the Harlon Hill Award and the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame selection committees and was an ordained minister. Chris Day of Adams State College was the inaugural recipient of the J.W. Campbell Award in 2001-2002, Jeff Duggan of Regis University was selected as the 2002-2003 winner and Greg Murphy of Colorado School of Mines was the 2003-2004 honoree.

The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference is a premier NCAA Division II conference located in the states of Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska and New Mexico. The RMAC currently competes in 18 NCAA Division II sports and has earned 30 NCAA Division II national championships and
19 national runner-ups since 1992. Founded in 1909, the RMAC is believed to be the third oldest conference in the United States. The Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association was founded in 1888 and the Big 10 in 1898. The current RMAC membership includes Adams State College, Chadron State College, Colorado Christian University, Colorado School of Mines, Colorado State University at Pueblo, Fort Hays State University, Fort Lewis College, Mesa State College, Metropolitan State College of Denver, New Mexico Highlands University, Regis University, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, University of Nebraska at Kearney and Western State College.

For further media information pertaining to McCullough's award, please contact the following individuals:
Chris Fitzpatrick, RMAC Associate Commissioner (719) 439-5081
Eric Danner, RMAC Coord. of Media Relations & Dir. of Broadcast Services (719) 471-4530

Chris Fitzpatrick
Associate Commissioner
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference
1867 Austin Bluffs Parkway
Suite 101
Colorado Springs, Colorado 80918
Work: (719) 471-4936
Web Site: RMAC